Wednesday, November 4, 2009

Atlantic 10 Women’s Soccer Tournament Time

For the second time in three seasons, the Charlotte 49ers are hosting the Atlantic 10 Women’s Soccer Championship at Transamerica Field. The Championships begin with two quarterfinal games, Thursday, November 5 beginning at 5:30 pm. Then, the semifinals will be played on Friday, November 6 beginning at 5:30 pm. The A-10 Championship game is set for Sunday, November 8 at 1 pm.

With the A-10 Championships set to begin this week, here are some interesting notes about the 49ers women’s soccer program.

* Charlotte is attempting to become only the second team in A-10 history to capture three straight A-10 Tournament titles. Massachusetts captured three straight A-10 titles from 1993-95. Last season, Charlotte joined Dayton, Massachusetts and Saint Louis as the only four teams in league history to capture consecutive A-10 Championships.
* 49ers finished second in the A-10 standings in the regular-season to earn a first-round bye. Due to the first-round bye, the 49ers have made at least the semifinals of the conference tournament 13 times in the program’s 16-year history. Actually that number is 13 times in 15 Tournament appearances since in 1994, the 49ers inaugural women’s soccer season; Charlotte was not a member of a conference.
* Charlotte captured conference tournament titles in 1995, 1998, 2007 and 2008. The 49ers reached the finals of the 1999 Conference USA Tournament.
* Senior Hailey Beam was named A-10 Tournament MVP in each of the past two seasons. She is one of only two players in league history to be named A-10 Tournament MVP twice.
* Junior Whitney Weinraub was just named A-10 Offensive Player of the Year for the second consecutive season. She is the first player in league history to repeat as A-10 Offensive Player of the Year.
* Beam was just named A-10 Midfielder and Women’s Soccer Student-Athlete of the Year for the second straight season. Older sister former 49ers standout Lindsey Ozimek claimed both honors as a senior in 2007. So a member of the Beam family has been named A-10 Midfielder of the Year and Women’s Soccer Student-Athlete of the Year for three straight years.
* Junior Megan Minnix joined Beam and Weinraub as first-team All-Atlantic 10 selections. This marked the second consecutive season and the third time in school history that Charlotte has had three first-team all-league players in the same season.
* The 49ers are currently in the midst of a 27-game unbeaten streak against Atlantic 10 competition. The 49ers have not lost to an Atlantic 10 foe since the end of the 2007 regular-season. During that stretch, the 49ers are 25-0-2 against A-10 teams. Charlotte has gone 20-0-2 over the last two Atlantic 10 regular-seasons. They join Massachusetts as the only two teams in league history to post consecutive unbeaten A-10 seasons.
* First-year head coach John Cullen became the fourth straight 49ers women’s soccer coach to post double-figure wins in their first season with the 49ers. He has guided the 49ers to 15 wins which is the most wins by a first-year head coach in the program’s history.
* Charlotte’s 15 regular-season wins marked the 13th time in school history that the 49ers have reached double-figures in wins.
* The 49ers defense has recorded 13 shutouts this season which tied last season’s school-record.
* Charlotte’s senior class of Hailey Beam, Lauren Brown and Leah Zappone rank among the nation’s leaders in victories by a senior class. These three seniors have helped the 49ers win 62 games and claim three A-10 regular-season titles and two A-10 Tournament titles during their careers.

No comments:

Post a Comment