Sunday, April 26, 2009

A-10 Men's Golf

Corey Nagy, Stefan Wiedergruen and Paul Ferrier are 1-2-3 in the A-10 golf individual standings entering Sunday's final round. If one of them emerges as conference medalist, he would become the fourth 49er in school history to win a conference tournament. Matt Mincer won the A-10 individual title in 2007, Russell Killough won C-USA in 2002 and David Winesette won Metro Conference title in 1992.

The 49ers have not had a 1-2-3 sweep before but they have taken the top two spots once before: 2007 - Mincer (1st), Andrew DiBitetto (2nd). Charlotte has had at least three players finish in the top five in each of the last three years:

2008: Nagy (2nd), Jonas Enander Hedin (3rd), Stefan Wiedergruen (T5th)
2007: Mincer (1st), DiBitetto (2nd), Nagy (5th)
2006: Ray Sheedy (3rd), Mincer (4th), DiBitetto (T5th), Jonas Enander Hedin (T5th)

In 2006, the 49ers landed all five golfers in the A-10's top 10: Sheedy (3rd), Mincer (4th), DiBitetto (T5th), Enander Hedin (T5th) and Trevor Murphy (9th). In 2007 four 49ers placed in the top 10 (Mincer, DiBitetto, Nagy and Jonas Enander Hedin, 9th).

Freshman Tyler Mitchell is currently tied for 6th, giving the 49ers a chance to match 2006 with four players in the top 5.

Live scoring at

No comments:

Post a Comment