Wednesday, September 23, 2009

The 49ers in the Atlantic 10 Conference
This weekend, the Charlotte 49ers women’s soccer team and volleyball teams begin Atlantic 10 play with two games apiece. The 49ers women’s soccer team begins it quest for a fourth straight A-10 regular-season title when they play Duquesne (September 25 at 7 pm) at Transamerica Field. Then, the 49ers conclude the weekend on the road at Fordham, Sunday, September 27. While, the 49ers volleyball team, which has won seven of its last eight matches, begins A-10 play in the City of Brotherly Love this weekend. Charlotte battles Temple (September 25) and La Salle (September 27) on the road. This brings me to the point of this article, which is the 49ers success in the Atlantic 10 in the four plus years that the school has been in the league.

As I mentioned earlier, the 49ers women’s soccer team has captured the last three Atlantic 10 regular-season titles as well as the last two Atlantic 10 Tournament titles. Over the last three years, the 49ers are 28-2-1 against A-10 competition during the regular-season. The team has had 13 different players earn All-Atlantic 10 honors. Nikki Dumencich was named A-10 Rookie of the Year in 2005. While, Lindsey Ozimek (2007) and Hailey Beam (2008) have each earned A-10 Midfielder of the Year honors. Whitney Weinraub was named A-10 Offensive Player of the Year last season.

Former 49er volleyball standout Carly Romberg is the only player in A-10 history to be named Libero of the Year and she received that award twice in 2007 and 2008. Several former 49ers volleyball stalwarts Alma Arroyo, Cori Dayton and Lisa Newell earned first-team All-Atlantic 10 honors during their careers.
The 49ers men’s soccer program reached the Championship game of the 2007 A-10 Tournament. Last season, former 49ers All-American Chris Salvaggione was named A-10 Offensive Player of the Year after leading the league in goals. Thirteen different 49ers have earned All-Atlantic 10 honors over the last four years.

Last season, the cross country runners Adu Dentamo and Amanda Goetschius captured the A-10 Individual Championships in men’s and women’s cross country respectively. What made this feat even more satisfying was that the A-10 Cross Country Championships were run at Charlotte, November 1. The women’s team led by All-Atlantic 10 performers Goetschius, Keara Thomas and Aja Jackson finished second in the A-10.
Last season, the 49ers women’s basketball team captured the A-10 Tournament title on their home court in early March. The A-10 Tournament title was the first conference tournament title in school history. In 2006, the 49ers captured a share of the A-10 regular-season title the first season that Charlotte was in the league. In each of Charlotte’s four seasons in the A-10, the 49ers have had a bye in the first round of the A-10 Tournament after finishing among the top four teams in the league during the regular-season. Last season, Shannon McCallum became the first 49er to be named A-10 Sixth Player of the Year. Seven different 49ers have earned All-Atlantic 10 honors.
Charlotte’s men’s basketball team reached the semifinals of the 2008 A-10 Tournament. The 49ers have made two postseason tournament appearances in the four years that Charlotte has been in the A-10. Four different 49ers have earned All-Atlantic 10 honors.
Charlotte’s women’s tennis team has never finished lower than fifth in the A-10’s 14-team league. In 2006, Charlotte reached the Championship match of the A-10 Tournament. Seven different 49ers have earned All-Atlantic 10 honors led by 2007 A-10 Freshman of the Year Ana Spivakovsky, who is a three-time All-Atlantic 10 selection.
Charlotte’s men’s tennis team made the program’s first-ever appearance in the NCAA Tournament after capturing the 2007 A-10 Tournament title. Former 49ers standout Roy Sichel, who was named A-10 Player of the Year twice, became the first 49er to reach the NCAA Singles Tournament which he did twice while the 49ers have been a member of the A-10. .
Charlotte’s softball program has enjoyed unparalleled success in the A-10. Charlotte captured the 2006 A-10 regular-season title which was the 49ers first year in the league. In 2008, the 49ers reach the A-10 Tournament Championship game for the first time in school history. Ten 49ers have earned All-Atlantic 10 honors over the last four years.
The 49ers baseball team has captured two A-10 Tournament titles, an A-10 regular-season title, and reached an NCAA Regional twice during Charlotte’s four years in the A-10. The 2007 team won a school-record 49 games overall and went an impressive 23-4 in the A-10. In 2007, former 49ers standout All-American Adam Mills was named A-10 Pitcher of the Year. In 2008, former 49ers standout Chris Taylor was named A-10 Player of the Year. Aaron Bray (2006) and Corey Shaylor (2008) were each named A-10 Rookie of the Year.
Charlotte’s men’s golf team has captured the A-10 title in each of the program’s four years in the league. The 49ers have made five straight NCAA Tournament appearances. Charlotte earned consecutive Top 10 finishes (T3rd in 2007 and T8th in 2008) at the NCAA Championship as a member of the A-10.
The 49ers women’s track and field team has captured four straight A-10 Indoor and Outdoor Championships. Standout women’s track and field performers Lamarra Currie, Shareese Woods, Aja Jackson and Ebonie Cunningham earned individual A-10 honors as well.
The 49ers men’s track and field team has captured three outdoor and two indoor A-10 Championships. Darius Law, Chase Eckerd, Jason Roberts, Sam Jordan and Isaac McReynolds have earned individual A-10 honors.
So fans please come out an cheer on the 49ers various athletic teams since they all rank among the A-10’s best.

No comments:

Post a Comment